The Wreck

The air conditioner just died;
She couldn’t find a parking space.
He says he loves me for my mind.
How many signals did I miss?

The coffee-mug spilled on her shirt–
I didn’t see the light was red!
“You’re asking for a world of hurt.”
He found her in a hospital bed.

“This bruise is shaped just like a hand.”
It wasn’t my fault; I couldn’t stop!
Please don’t; please, no! Please! I can’t stand.
The nurse awoke her; why did she sob?

“It’s all just fine.” “You’ll be okay.”
But now she’s lost another fight.
Today was a very, very long day.
And tonight will be a very long night.

Categories: Poetry | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do YOU think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

