Seriously, Science? Seriously?

Note: In this post, I will be addressing Science personified.

Seriously, Science? Seriously?

I really respected you. I thought you were this mysterious, beautiful idea that I could spend the rest of my life trying to understand. I respected your students. I thought, to a certain extent, you could explain the mysteries of the universe.

And then this. Physics class. I am only a week in. I should not have gotten disillusioned this early. You let me down.

My professor started talking about gravity. And I thought, Yes! Finally, one of the mysteries of life will be explained! The sweet scent of forthcoming knowledge intoxicated me.

Do you know what he told me?

He told me that gravity is an invisible field of force. That all objects have. Blah blah, attraction, blah, the bigger the object, the stronger the attraction, the closer the object, the stronger the attraction, blah, blah, blah.

An invisible field of force. Seriously?

You know what? If that’s all you’ve got, I could do you one better. I could invent gravity fairies. The explanation would sound exactly the same, except everywhere we have ‘invisible force field,’ we would have ‘invisible gravity fairies.’ It wouldn’t change that much.

The only difference I can see between this and the way you were in 1500 is that you’ve gotten better at sounding smart. I actually went and searched for an explanation of gravity. All I found, everywhere, was this ‘invisible force field’ thing. ‘Invisible force field’ is not an explanation. An explanation would tell us what makes the invisible force field work. And as far as I can tell, no-one really knows. They just know the rules that this invisible force field functions under.

So, Science, I’m disillusioned. I will continue learning, and I still respect you somewhat. But unless you can shape up and stop explaining things by using descriptions of invisible magical force fields, then we are going to have a rather strained relationship.

It’s okay, though. Math and I are still on good terms.

livingoakheart (the disillusioned one)

Categories: Letters | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Seriously, Science? Seriously?

  1. So, I don’t want to detract at all from your literary discussion with Science, but I couldn’t let it go – Colossians 1:16-17. Replace fairies or force field with Jesus and you have just as mystical an answer, but the truth.

  2. It’s interesting that you brought up the point that we can’t really define gravity. My old philosophy professor took some tangent in his introductory lecture to note that very thing–we really don’t know what gravity is. Even in science, we can’t get away from mystery.

  3. James Bransom

    If every physical body exerts an attraction on every other physical body, what must an omnipresent entity do? Personally I believe that gravity is our ever present reminder from our Father that we are drawn to him.

What do YOU think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

