Rise and Shine

I am really really bad about consistency. If you follow this blog at all, you’ve probably noticed that. I often go weeks or months without posting.

That’s part of why I don’t do New Year’s resolutions–they only lead to shame and despair for me. (Yes, that was rather melodramatic. I think I’ll leave it though.)

Over the summer, though, I noticed this thing popping up on the internet called ‘oneword365.’ Curious, I looked it up and discovered an alternative to resolutions.

In the words of the site:

“One word. Because that’s easy to remember all 365 days of the year.

Not as easy is the choice to live it out. To let it shape your year. To allow it to shape you. But if you’ll let it, your One Word will become the filter through which you see and live your life. It will steer your decisions and guide your steps.

What do you want to focus on in 2013?”

It truly intrigued me. To an extent, I have already been doing this, in a haphazard fashion. I often notice themes in my life and try to pursue them; last year, if I had had a word, it would have been brokenness.

This year, I am going to try doing this thing; having one word that I can use as a reminder, that will help me to grow, God willing. Because the Lord knows I need a lot of growing.

This is it, then. My one word for 2013 is Faith.

Faith that God is on his throne. Faithfulness in my actions. Faith in others.

Keep the faith.

Give us faith to be strong,

Give us strength to be faithful.

This life is not long but it’s hard.

–Andrew Peterson

Categories: My testimony | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Rise and Shine

  1. I like it. Similar idea to a life verse. Rather than resolving to change our actions – which we are pretty powerless to do for long, we are changing our view/motivations – which will hopefully lead to a changed heart – which will lead to changed actions. I am reminded of James 1:2-5

  2. jonstolpe

    Great word for 2013!

    Epiphany is my word for the new year. I’m excited to see God revealed in new ways in 2013.

What do YOU think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

