The I AM

Jesus is God.

If you are saying, “Well, duh,” hang with me.

Jesus was God. He lived on earth for thirty-odd years, and walked and talked and sang and laughed and cried. I’m sure at times he seemed very… ordinary.

But He was still God.

His disciples must have been very confused. He was so very man, and so very God. How is that even possible? (Answer: With God.)

And if His disciples were confused, everyone else must have been utterly baffled. On the one hand, this Man teaches things from God. On the other, He blasphemes and claims to be God.

The I AM statements were especially shocking.

In fact, every time I read one of them in Scripture, I imagine the ground shaking.

Matthew 16:15
He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?”

And the ground rumbles. And Peter replies, “You are the Christ, Son of the Living God.”

Matthew 22:32
‘I AM THE GOD OF ABRAHAM, AND THE GOD OF ISAAC, AND THE GOD OF JACOB’? He is not the God of the dead but of the living.”

And the ground shakes. And the crowds are astonished at His teaching.

Matthew 27:43
HE TRUSTS IN GOD; LET GOD RESCUE Him now, IF HE  DELIGHTS IN HIM; for He said, ‘I am the Son of God.’”

And the ground shakes in fury and sorrow. And men are oblivious.

Matthew 28:20
teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo,  I am with you  always, even to  the end of the age.”

And the grounds dances, in eager expectation of the day when it will be remade to God’s glory.

But for now, all creation groans, and men wend their heedless way past the signs of the times and the marks of sorrow.

The all-powerful God of Creation opens his mouth, and shares Truth with men, and they heed it not, nor do they esteem it, because they have a paper due Thursday and their boss will fire them if they’re late again and they have to meet their friends at a coffeeshop and there is a sale at the mall and why can’t God just be content with the four hours they give Him every Sunday?

And God says, “I AM.” But it’s not convenient right now, so the revelation can wait.

And God says, “Be still.” But if they are still, then they might hear things that require a response, and they don’t have time to respond and they would just like God to answer their checklist with yeses and be on His way.

And God says, “Give me your burdens.” But they are MY burdens, and I can take care of them just fine because I am capable and confident and cool and I don’t need help.

And God says, “I love you.” But love is invasive, and love is uncomfortable, and I would rather just be acquaintances, God, because I don’t have time for drama and I don’t need it anyway so why don’t you go give your love to someone who needs it, like orphans in Haiti?

And God says, “Come.” But I need to do this one thing, and this other thing, and I’ll come when I have time, God. But I’m busy right now. Don’t you understand? I don’t have time.

And God says, “I AM.”

And the ground shakes, and the trees bow, and there is nowhere left to hide from the raging, relentless mercy and justice of the Living God.

Don’t wait too long. Don’t wait another second. The time is short, the time is now, and the Spirit and the Bride say, “Come.” And let the one who hears say, “Come.” And let the one who is thirsty come.

And bow before the only One who can truly say, “I AM.”

Categories: Musings | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do YOU think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

