Sunday Songs 3

If I Stand

My Sunday School class (taught by my father) is studying music with Christian themes, so I thought I would post the lyrics with verses and/or explanation.

If I Stand

by Rich Mullins and Steve Cudworth

There’s more that rises in the morning
Than the sun
-Lamentations 3:22b-23a
“His Mercies never fail, they are new every morning.”
-Revelation 20:16
“I, Jesus, am the Root and Offspring of David, The Bright and Morning Star.”

And more that shines in the night
Than just the moon

It’s more than just this fire here
That keeps me warm

In a shelter that is larger
Than this room
-Psalm 143:9
“Deliver me, O Lord, from my enemies; In You I take shelter.”

And there’s a loyalty that’s deeper
Than mere sentiments

And a music higher than the songs
That I can sing
-Job 38:7
“When the morning stars sang together
And all the sons of God shouted for joy?”

The stuff of Earth competes
For the allegiance

I owe only to the giver
Of all good things
-James 1:17
“Every good and perfect gift comes down from the Father of Lights, in whom there is no variation or shifting shadow.”

CHORUS:
So if I stand let me stand on the promise
That you will pull me through
-James 1:6
“But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering; for he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea, driven with the wind and tossed.”

And if I can’t, let me fall on the grace
That first brought me to You

And if I sing let me sing for the joy
That has born in me these songs

And if I weep let it be as a man
Who is longing for his home
-Psalm 137:4
“How can we sing songs of the Lord in a foreign land?”
-Luke 15:18-24
“I will arise, and go to my Father, and say to Him, ‘Father, I have sinned…”

There’s more that dances on the prairies
Than the wind
-John 3:8
“The wind blows where it wishes and you hear the sound of it, but do not know where it comes from and where it is going; so is everyone who is born of the Spirit.”

More that pulses in the ocean
Than the tide

There’s a love that is fiercer
Than the love between friends
-Proverbs 18:24
“But there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.”

More gentle than a mother’s
When her baby’s at her side
-Isaiah 49:15-16
“Can a woman forget her nursing child, and have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you.”

Chorus

Categories: music | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do YOU think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

