Sunday Songs 2

In Christ Alone

My Sunday School class (taught by my father) is studying music with Christian themes, so I thought I would post the lyrics with verses and/or explanation.

In Christ Alone
by Keith Getty and Stuart Townsend
.
V1-1 In Christ alone my hope is found,
V1-2 He is my light, my strength, my song;
V1-3 this Cornerstone, this solid Ground,
V1-4 firm through the fiercest drought and storm.
V1-5 What heights of love, what depths of peace,
V1-6 when fears are stilled, when strivings cease!
V1-7 My Comforter, my All in All,
V1-8 here in the love of Christ I stand.
.
V2-1 In Christ alone! who took on flesh
V2-2 Fulness of God in helpless babe!
V2-3 This gift of love and righteousness
V2-4 Scorned by the ones he came to save:
V2-5 Till on that cross as Jesus died,
V2-6 The wrath of God was satisfied –
V2-7 For every sin on Him was laid;
V2-8 Here in the death of Christ I live.
.
V3-1There in the ground His body lay
V3-2 Light of the world by darkness slain:
V3-3 Then bursting forth in glorious Day
V3-4 Up from the grave he rose again!
V3-5 And as He stands in victory
V3-6 Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me,
V3-7 For I am His and He is mine –
V3-8 Bought with the precious blood of Christ.
.
V4-1 No guilt in life, no fear in death,
V4-2 This is the power of Christ in me;
V4-3 From life’s first cry to final breath.
V4-4 Jesus commands my destiny.
V4-5 No power of hell, no scheme of man,
V4-6 Can ever pluck me from His hand;
V4-7 Till He returns or calls me home,
V4-8 Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.
And the verses-
Lost, when my computer died.
Categories: music | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do YOU think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

